Skip navigation

So you ripped and encoded your TV Shows for your iPod touch. You know you have done everything right, yet the show simply won’t show up in your iPod touch! The mpeg4 file synced without a hitch. The mpeg4 file plays just fine in your iPod Video but it’s mysteriously missing from your iPod touch. What gives? This issue has been bugging me since I got my iPod touch. None of my TV Shows show up even though I know they are in the iPod touch.

a2.png
Then yesterday I bought a TV Show from iTS, and it shows up! WTF, Steve only want me to watch iTS purchased shows?

So I looked closely and discovered the secret — The ID3 tag for “Show” must not be left blank!! Yes, it’s that simple. Fill in the Show’s name (Family Guy, Ugly Betty, Desperate Husband, whatever) and that’s that!

 

Checklist:

  • For a video to be classified as TV Shows, it only makes sense if you have a series of it, or at least the episode number. Otherwise, you might as well classify a tv show as a “Movie” instead.
  • Now if only I could find a script or app that can copy the “Album” tag to the “Show” tag and save me lots of repetitive chore. Does any know of such a script/app? iTunify doesn’t do it, nor can I find a script from Doug’s huge library of iTunes AppleScript. Sigh.
  • To edit the tag, “Get Info” on the video file in iTunes.app. It’s under the “Video” tab”.
  • You probably want to fill in, at least, the “Episode Number” or else the show will have an “Unknown” in the display screen.
15 Comments

  1. Thanks

  2. Cheers for that, thought I was going mental!!!

  3. Thanks, problem sorted πŸ˜‰

  4. Thanks for that!

    Silly apple πŸ˜›

    Good work there Rup!

  5. It still didn’t work me 😦 These are show episodes I bought straight from Itunes! They were there at one time, but then just vanished.

  6. “They were there at one time, but then just vanished.” That tells me the TV Show’s ID3 tags are fine. iTunes deleted the show from your iPod and no longer sync it because you have watched it.

    Try changing this setting to “All”. πŸ˜‰

  7. RupertGee-Thank you very much, I will try this when I get home. I am a total newbie to ITunes, I am used to using just a plain old mp3 player. πŸ™‚

  8. Rupert-Thanks that worked. I have one other question for you. My husband still uses a Sony Walkman mp3 player and since I’ve started using ITunes, I can’t seem to connect his player to our computer. I don’t know if it’s broken, or maybe ITunes is stopping all other programs? I tried to reinstall the Sony software and keep getting an error stating the device isn’t connected. Any ideas? Thanks!

  9. Thanks for posting this; I found the webpage by Google and thanks to your help I now have my ‘TV SHOWS’ entry back on my trusty ol iPod! πŸ˜‰

  10. That is really a great idea.. Thanks..

  11. But in the last few years, IPTV has dwarfed the caliber of DVD and
    Cable TV. Just must be link is on Piratebay does not necessarily
    mean that the users are downloading it, so because of this, the flawed data.
    Typically, the My Documents folder will be the best anyone to use.

  12. There are many advantages of having a seedbox that are highlighted below.
    Sakata studied marine biology before entering music, and contains retained that
    interest by becoming a recognized expert about the Japanese water flea known as Mijinko.
    It can be better to possess a bootable disc that could
    diagnose drive and memory problems and offer the Windows recovery environment
    to restore your backup towards the same or a new hard drive.

  13. Hiya very cool blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Superb .

    . I’ll bookmark your blog and take the feeds also? I’m glad
    to search out a lot of helpful info right here within
    the publish, we’d like develop extra strategies in this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

  14. It’s an awesome article for all the web people; they will get benefit from it I
    am sure.

  15. Normally I do not learn post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very compelled me
    to take a look at and do it! Your writing taste has been amazed me.
    Thank you, quite nice post.


Leave a Reply

