Skip navigation

The buzz this morning is that the iPhone 1.1.3 update will give jailbroken ones a hard time… blablabla. It goes without saying the same will probably applies to our iPod touch. Then it hits me; what if I can’t get hold of the current version 1.1.2 firmware anymore? That would be disasterous if I accidentally upgraded my iPod touch to 1.1.3 and can’t downgrade back to 1.1.2!

A quick check and thank goodness a copy of the 1.1.2 firmware file is found residing in my harddisk. I’m pretty sure it’ll get erased once a newer version is available.

So I back it up to another location for safe keep. You probably should too.

~/Library/iTunes/iPod Software Updates/iPod1,1_1.1.2_3B48b_Restore.ipsw

I’m so smart ….

(Don’t ask; I have no idea where to look for a copy in Windows.)

24 Comments

  1. any idea as to when 1.1.3 will be released?

  2. I have no idea but it should be pretty soon.

  3. I made the mistake of upgrading to 1.1.3, but managed to salvaged the 1.1.2 restore firmware like u mentioned above, but the thing still wouldnt let me restore to 1.1.2 😦 any ideas?

  4. niNO, did you also upgrade to the new iTunes 7.6? That could be the reason. If you have another Mac that still runs iTunes 7.5, try restoring 1.1.2 on it.

  5. Hi,

    I did not upgrade to iTunes 7.6. I stayed with 7.5 actually not knowing that 7.6 was available.

    So I guess I am screwed until the next jailbreak huh?:)

  6. Hey Rupert.
    So for now should we not update iTunes or the software update?

    Thanks

  7. yo!, i got the same problem as nino, that i upgraded my ipod to 1.1.3 while i had a jailbroken 1.1.2.
    i was just wondering about what nino said when he sais something about that he still managed to alvaged the 1.1.2 restore. and is it any ways to use the jailbreak 1.1.2 now if i can make my ipod go to 1.1.2.
    plz e-mail me on bendik.g@hotmail.com

  8. On windows, you can find the the restore file in the following location:

    C:\Documents and Settings\\Application Data\Apple Computer\iTunes\iPod Software Updates

    I have upgraded to 1.1.3 (itunes automatically does this, if you have an unhacked ipod touch, once you connect the ipod to your computer), and I am unable to downgrade to any of the previous versions.

    If someone has managed to downgrade, do get back to me shvelmur [at] gmail

  9. Sorry didn’t read all the comments before I posted mine. I tried downgrading my itunes to 7.4.3.1 and am still unable to downgrade

  10. Found a way to downgrade from 1.1.3 to 1.1.1. Check out this video on youtube.

    this worked for me. All you need is iPhuc and some cmdline commands

  11. Pretty sure you can find it in:

    :\Documents and Settings\\Application Data\Apple Computer\iTunes\iPhone Software Updates

    on a Windows system.

  12. Just to answer Bendik,
    Attempts to downgrade to 1.1.2 has failed so far. I’ve tried with a backed up version of the 1.1.2 restore firmware and the one from the ~/Library/iTunes/iPod Software Updates/ folder. Both to no avail.

    I did it through iTunes 7.5 not 7.6. I am disappointed but however it is just a matter of time before it is possible again.

  13. @niNO did you check my last comment?! I was able to downgrade to 1.1.1. You can then either choose to jailbreak and then upgrade to 1.1.2 or simply restore to 1.1.2 image

  14. Btw, I also returned my ipod touch to bestbuy, since I don’t believe in letting myself be ripped of my apple. i will wait until they announce their SDK, and see their model for the ipod touch as platform before buying it again.

    Having said that it has the best screen for both text and video in any portable device in the last century! 🙂

  15. Lol i feel like an idiot … i cant find the 1.1.2 firmware anywhere .. ive searched everywhere i can think of

  16. nvm .. i found it didnt know that there was like 5 itunes folders in different libraries

  17. Maybe I’m missing something here but I’m having a hard time understanding why I’d want to upgrade to 1.1.3 if I have a perfectly functioning 1.1.2 jailbroken iPod with the iPhone apps?
    Is there a good reason to upgrade?

    Guessing no, I guess what I’d really like is the updated iPhone apps from what i installed a few weeks ago.
    Is that possible instead?

    Any advise, or comments are appreciated. Thx.

  18. Myself am wondering what’s so special about 1.1.3. I understand many people accidentally upgraded to it and tried desperately to downgrade and jailbreak.

    So Scotty… stay put with your 1.1.2 iPod. You aren’t missing anything.

  19. Need some help here-Can I jailbreak my OTB 1.1.2 iphone with Itunes 7.6?

  20. i was able to download the 1.1.3 to my 1.1.1 ipod touch but i dont know how to jailbreak it know can some one tell me how?

  21. i downloaded 1.1.3 to my ipod touch and the next day i found out about the ipod touch jailbreak. but everytime I download the 1.1.1 downgrade from the internet i hit shift and restore and click on the 1.1.1 restore thing but an unknown error comes up. do you have any websites that dont do this? or a 1.1.3 jailbreak?

  22. C:\Documents and Settings\\Application Data\Apple Computer\iTunes\iPod Software Updates\

    That is where the files reside on Windows XP/2000 Pro.

    Also if you are running windows, you’ll need a program called iPhuc to trick iTunes into thinking your ipod is running 1.1.1 to downgrade….it just makes it think you’re running an older firmware..then just restoring that firmware onto the itouch.

  23. @ matt. I think you have to press shift+update, not restore. not too sure though.

  24. @matt

    Please follow the following complete guide to jailbreak 1.1.3. Yes, you have to downgrade first but not by clicking Shift+Restore. That won’t work. You need to put your ipod touch into DFU mode first. The complete guide tells you how to:

    https://rupertgee.wordpress.com/2008/02/08/jailbreak-113-official-gui/


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. By thegeekyblog.com on 31 Dec 2007 at 9:39 am

    […] Read the rest of this great post here […]

  2. […] I hope you already have safe keep a copy of the version 1.1.2 firmware. Misc […]

Leave a Reply

