Skip navigation


I had installed iSlot as one of two games in my iPod touch sometime ago. I never like to play it. I mean… c’mon, it’s such a no-brainer game. Really, what’s so difficult about tapping a button?

Then yesterday I was in a clinic waiting for my turn to see the doctor. My iPod was running low on battery and I didn’t want to play a video or listen to music to kill time. So I played iSlot, and I’m amazed how useful this game. Guys seated next to me were stealing glances and eventually got catch in to the game too. Eventually more and more people gathered around me and I swear I could sell them a few iPod touch.

Two hours later my iPod touch’s battery level barely reduce.

Am I really that lucky to score nine hundred over thousand credits? I wish (although the triple jackpot is real)! That’s a hack. All you need to do is edit the /Library/iSlot/preferences.dat file. It accepts up to 999,999 credits.

22 Comments

  1. Just curious, what was the other game?

  2. It’s iPhysics. 🙂 It’s hard to describe the game, except it’s one of the hottest game around. Try it yourself.

  3. Thanks Rupert! As I’ve said before, your instructional posts are pure gold. I’m absolutely loving the new found functionality and entertainment value of my iPod Touch.
    I also like getting your take on some of the apps out there both productive and not. Keep the reviews and tips coming…

  4. Is the iPod touch something new? I have an iPod, but this game is only for the iPod touch??

  5. 🙂 Find out more about the iPod touch.

    The other iPod have their own games and this game is for the iPod touch only.

  6. Hi Rupert.
    Which programme should I use to open the preferences.dat file please? Does VLC player support these type of files? I’ve read around, and heard that there are MANY types of .dat extensions, and no default programme to open.
    Thanks, Vanya

  7. Yo Vanya

    That particular .dat file is really just a xml file you can edit with a xml editor. I use BBEdit but many people highly recommends TextMate.

  8. Er…Where do I go to change the prefs? All the opening and closing tags are getting on my nerves 🙂 Do i have to change one of the integers? Btw, using BBEdit. Thanks

  9. Ha ha ha. Look for the number that is exactly your credits in iSlot.

    Oh, be sure to quit iSlot first before you edit that .dat file. Otherwise your editing gets overridden when iSlot quits.

  10. I’ve recently hacked (this word sounds way too cool)my ipod touch to 1.1.3 and I’ve got iSlots running on mine okay. The problem is that it won’t save my games. Everytime I run the game, it’s like starting all over again with 100 credits.

    What do I do in that case? I’ve check my /Library/ folder and there is no iSlot/preferences.dat file. Would this be the case and if it is, how do I restore this folder?

    Thanks a bunch and I’ve never hit the jackpot yet. Does it do special things or even go crazy when you hit the jackpot?

  11. I know this may seem a bit ignorant, but I’m still new to the iphone world.

    How can I access the files on iphone so that I can edit my credits…

  12. i cant seem to find preferences.dat. any ideas?

  13. how can i edit this file under windows? can you email me your preferences.dat file so i can replace mine via an ftp client sofware. Thanks!!

  14. I got the file but the score is encrypted any idea how to decrypt or can you send me an hiscore prefrence.dat ?

  15. @powerkill
    What do you mean by encrypted? You need an editor for it, such as BBEdit or TextEdit for Mac. Read some above comments

  16. the score is encrypted, I open it with hexeditor and I can’t find the offset where the score is stored.
    Any help or send me a file by mail ?

  17. $archiver
    NSKeyedArchiver
    $objects

    $null

    $class

    CF$UID
    8

    NS.keys

    CF$UID
    2

    CF$UID
    3

    CF$UID
    4

    NS.objects

    CF$UID
    5

    CF$UID
    6

    CF$UID
    7

    soundspin
    sound
    credits
    real
    NO
    b43bb2c514f5e98c2c873307b7fcb8bf

    $classes

    NSMutableDictionary
    NSDictionary
    NSObject

    $classname
    NSMutableDictionary

    $top

    root

    CF$UID
    1

    $version
    100000

  18. Ah. I can’t open the file anymore, as the trial period has entered, and I’m too cheap to purchase. I’ll try on another compuer when i get the time. Although, when I had opened the file, I couldn’t find the corresponding numerals

  19. it’s free it’s not a shareware update to the last version

  20. powerkill, do you know if this will work with islots v.5 and iphone?
    I found the .dat file, but score is encrypted also.
    Did you ever figured this out?

  21. I’ve got mine encyrpted as well

  22. $archiver
    NSKeyedArchiver
    $objects

    $null

    $class

    CF$UID
    8

    NS.keys

    CF$UID
    2

    CF$UID
    3

    CF$UID
    4

    NS.objects

    CF$UID
    5

    CF$UID
    6

    CF$UID
    7

    soundspin
    sound
    credits
    real
    NO
    b43bb2c514f5e98c2c873307b7fcb8bf

    $classes

    NSMutableDictionary
    NSDictionary
    NSObject

    $classname
    NSMutableDictionary

    $top

    root

    CF$UID
    1

    $version
    100000

    58000 credit


Leave a Reply

