Skip navigation

20080112-dsc03816-th.png

I never quite like the original iPod eardphones. It’s uncomfortable, and I was told doesn’t sound as good as it should. The last time I actually bothered to go out shopping for a replacement pair, I was dumb founded no shops let me audition them before purchase. Oh, c’mon! Do they expect me to buy earphones based on how they look inside sealed packages? Fed up I gave up the idea of getting a new pair. Upon reaching home I figured it would be unhygenic to audition them anyways….

But last week I chanced upon read good reviews on the Sennheiser CX 300. The reviews weren’t written by someone with commercial interest in the product but a bunch of headphone heads, such as those at the SgHeadphone forum (yes, an entire forum and site dedicated to headphones… and you still don’t think Singaporeans are crazy?) and other special interest group around the globe. Since I can’t audition any pair, I decided to just get the CX 300… and get over it.

So I bought a pair. I hated them the first time I plug them into my iPod touch. But my friend absolutely love the deep bass and crystal clear sound. “It’s such a big improvement over the original iPod headphone! The sound stage opens up like magic.”

I thought he was kidding… and tried them on again. They stilllllll suck! C’mon!

“Hey Rupe… you have to stick them into your ear canel, creating a complete seal. Stick them in!”

“Oh?”

“Yah.”

Push push shaft shaft…. “Ok, I’m a moron.” Blush. These are my first pair of ear buds! How am I suppose to know the correct way to use them?

Wow! It’s true, these Sennheiser are amazing (compared to the original iPod eardphones). The bass is deep and strong. I find the treble a tab sharp but fortunately mid is strong. Stolen by Dashboard Confessionals never sounded so good on the iPod. Not only can I hear the drums I feel them!

So… if you need a relatively inexpensive earphones … the Sennheiser CX 300 are an excellent pair.

Oh, beside silver, black and white, Sennheiser makes them in Pink too!

CAVEAT:

Believe it or not, the Sennheiser CX 300 are so good, there are plenty of fakes out there. Be sure to google on this matter. Immitation may be the sincerest form of flattery… but not if you bought yourself an expensive fake!

One Comment

  1. I find that I get quite a lot of hiss through my CX300s on the Ipod Touch. It seems to be a problem with the noise floor on the Touch that doesn’t show up on less sensitive headphones (as the guy in the Apple store will attest to, after straining to hear it on his over-the-ear cans). It’s a bit like going back to the 1980s and listening to a tape Walkman, except there’s no little Dolby NR switch to cancel out the hiss…


Leave a Reply

