Skip navigation

I used to find it very difficult to adjust the sound level on the iPod touch. My finger tip covers the volume knob and even though I can somewhat tell it’s right on the knob, when I slide it sometimes the volume level doesn’t change, or changes drastically all of a sudden.

It was so annoying I bring my 1st generation iPod shuffle with me on my morning walk around the park. The shuffle’s clickable volume buttons are so easy to operate, but I miss my fancy iPod touch.

Fortunately, I discovered a way to have fine control over the volume level. You don’t have to slide on the barely visible knob at all. Instead, tap and hold on the knob and then slide your finger tip upwards to the middle of the screen. After that, proceed to slide left or right, in full view of the knob! It sounds complicated but it really isn’t. In fact, it’s fun — the knob seemingly slides by itself. 🙂

Checklist:

  • If you want smaller and finer adjustment, slide your finger tip diagonally across the screen instead of horiziontally.
15 Comments

  1. Sweet! You’re a genius!

  2. Didn’t thought I’d figure that out at all. And it’s a cool tip!

  3. Love that… Thanks for the great find Rupert!

  4. Thanks! I can’t tell you how many times I cursed that volume control for the exact reasons you mentioned. Your method works perfectly!

  5. cool! now there’s no need to file a complaint to Steve Jobs 🙂 … tq.

  6. I’m so happy! Thank you!!!!

  7. You the man!

    Thank you thank you thank you!

  8. Genius! Thanks!

  9. outstanding…. i hate the fact they took off the external volume control they have one on the iphone

  10. Thanks man! That’s such a frustration relief!

  11. @bob

    ext vol control is good but I want tracks control as well.

    I think I’m going to buy this when I see it on sale in shops.

    http://www.tuaw.com/2007/09/28/iphone-ipod-touch-remote-control/

  12. Gawd bless you! Apple oughta add this to their “instructions”… and pay you in appreciation!

  13. Thats great! thanks!

  14. Эту тему обязан прочитать каждый родитель!.

  15. Individuals have come to be familiar with being ‘sold to’ and ‘sold at’.
    My thoughts of the product is that it helped me to not be hungry during the nighttime hours, when my hunger hormones are most active.

    Garcinia cambogia is which may end up in weight loss actually without diet and exercise.


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] anderen hat sich Rupert Gee Gedanken zur besseren Lautstärke-Modifikation auf dem iPhone gemacht und versorgt uns mit folgender Anleitung: “Fortunately, I discovered a […]

  2. […] thanks to this tip we can drag the virtual volume slider from another part of the […]

Leave a Reply

