Skip navigation

Feb 8, 2006 Update: This post is obsolete. Read the new revised post instead.

You probably know it’s not possible (as of writing) to jailbreak to firmware 1.1.3 unless you have a jailbroken iPod touch running firmware 1.1.2. Unfortunately to jailbreak to 1.1.2 in the first place, you need iTunes 7.5. If you try to use iTunes 7.6, your iPod touch will be stuck at the Recovery Mode endlessly after you ran the jailbreak.jar. Tsk tsk.

So let’s just downgrade iTunes from 7.6 to 7.5! Simple as it sound, it is *not* possible (update: see footnote 1 below). There’s no known and reliable method to do it right. You cannot just install iTunes 7.5 over 7.6; your music library will not load, and some reported iPod touch doesn’t even show up in iTunes after that.

But you really want to enjoy the benefits firmware 1.1.3 bring [insert rolling eyes smiley]. Well, you could reinstall the entire Mac OS X, but let’s not go into that — the benefits of 1.1.3 aren’t that great!

Here I tell you a simpler method you can deploy if you own an external eSATA, Firewire or USB (Firewire only for PowerPC Mac) harddisk. Basically, just install a fresh copy of Mac OS X on an external drive. You’ll then boot up your Mac with it. Just make sure you don’t upgrade to iTunes 7.6 when Software Update prompt you about it!

Problem solved.

Footnote:

1. Commenter Johnathan points out there’s a way to downgrade, although he hasn’t successfully jailbreak to 1.1.3 yet.

Checklists:

You can download iTunes 7.5 from here.

A bare minimum installation of OS X requires no more than 4-7 GB of disk space. You will partition your external harddisk into two partitions. Size the first for about 10GB is enough. Your new OS X goes in it. The balance space goes to the second partition, which you can use a a data drive for whatever data you keep.

Put the new external OS X drive to good use. Should you need to repair your internal standard OS X drive with Disk Utility, don’t go looking for that Leopard/Tiger DVD; just boot up from the external OS X and run Disk Utility from it! It’s speedier than DVD. You can, of course, install other disk and system maintenence apps externally as well. It becomes your Rescue Drive. Now that you know about this, always allocate a 20GB partition whenever you’re setting up a newly acquired external drive, ok?

An expensive firewire external drive is required to boot a PowerPC Mac. The OS X partition must also be in the first partition.

Don’t ask; I don’t know the equivalent method for Windows.

18 Comments

  1. hey rupert. Ask u ah how come everytime i tried to dl summerboard, it gives me a download failure ? Whereas other app dl fine ?

  2. @Vans

    That happened to me too. I then cleared the queue, rebooted the iPod touch, and it finally works.

  3. Oh okie thanks, will try!
    Happy Chinese new year.
    HUAT AH !

  4. Once your iPod gets stuck in recovery mode, just start up iNdependence (you get a few error messages because it’s designed for the iPhone but just dismiss them) and it will get you out. It seems like nothing is happening at first but then your iPod will show up in iTunes successfully jailbroken in 1.1.2.

  5. @Rupert

    I’ve tried so many times to restore my ipod to 1.1.1 from 1.1.3 and it always fails. The file is not corrupt, I downloaded it with curl, but itunes always gives me errors. I’ve read all your posts about it, tried all workarounds and I can’t.

    Isn’t there a way to jailbreak it running 1.1.3? Can I avoid downgrading somehow?.

  6. still says package download failure 😦

  7. Well, in windows is as easy as unistall 7.6, move or rename the my Documents\My Music\iTunes folder, and install 7.5

    I don’t know if in OSX is similar, but if not, must be something like that…

  8. How impolite of me… here’s the link http://mac-free.com/download/Independence.html

  9. Or you can just keep downgrade to 1.1.1 and uses iJailbreak repo and upgrade to 1.1.3 from there. It works, I did it.

  10. I have found it quite easy to downgrade iTunes.

    Install AppZapper: http://appzapper.com/ (Five free uses.)

    Then go into ~/Music/iTunes/ and MOVE both the “iTunes Library” and “iTunes Music Library.xml” files onto your desktop (or wherever you will remember).

    Once that is done, open AppZapper and go to the preferences and UNcheck “Keep Default Applications Safe” box. Now drag the iTunes application onto the AppZapper drop box and ZAP all the files shown.

    Next, download iTunes 7.5 with the link above. Go ahead and install 7.5. Do all the necessary steps to jailbreak your Touch and your good to go!

    You will have to “Import” your music into 7.5 by directing iTunes to the *.xml file on your desktop. (The other file is only usable in 7.6). OR if you upgrade back to iTunes 7.6 by doing a Software Update then just copy the two files on your desktop back into the ~/Music/iTunes/ folder. Hope this makes sense and helps you out! – j

    **Fair warning, I have not been succesful in jailbreaking all the way to 1.1.3 yet…

  11. @josue

    As of now there’s no direct jailbreak method.

  12. @Vans

    Hmm…. which jailbreak method you took har? You upgraded your Installer to 3.1-1 right?

  13. @Rick

    Excellent tip for Windows users. It sound easy to do.

    For us Mac users, iTunes is an integrated part of the OS, where many other apps like iMovies, iPhotos etc all needs iTunes in one way or another. So Apple never give us the option to uninstall it as it’s an important component of the OS…. much like Internet Explorer must be for Windows.

  14. @Trevor

    I never get to play with iNdependence becoz the download is hosted by GoogleCode, and GoogleCode always think I’m a virus and forbids me from downloading. It’s silly.

    Can I trouble you to email a copy to me please? rupertgee@gmail.com

    Thanks.

  15. @Jonathan

    Thanks for the tip! It seems workable. I shall point out your tip in the main post.

    But I’m curious why you haven’t successfully jailbroken to 1.1.3?

    In any case, I shall be trying out AppZapper’s uninstall soon. 7.6 is stopping a lot of users from jailbreaking to 1.1.3 and that’s bad. If the problem isn’t resolved, who knows they might still be stuck at 1.1.1 when we’re having fun in 1.1.4!

  16. @RupertGee
    Haha, I’m not quite sure why I haven’t been able to jailbreak to 1.1.3 – I have problems when I upgrade to 1.1.2 But it was late at night, so I shall try again now. Your instructions are quite good though.

    I forgot to mention that when you use AppZapper, it will want to delete the iTunes library files that we moved to the Desktop when it deletes iTunes. So you need to either UNselect them in AppZapper or move them to another drive.

    Also, if I’m not mistaken, you will lose any MANUALLY imported album artwork. But you can set it up in iTunes preferences to automatically retrieve missing album artwork for whatever it can find.

  17. @Jonathan

    Thanks for more input.

    I’m very pleased to tell you I spent the morning downgrading to 7.5 based on your suggestions.

    It doesn’t work — iPod touch failed to show up in iTunes 7.5 after that. Trying various methods to brutally recognize it failed as well.

    Then I looked into and compared the iTunes install packages and discovered what’s wrong. 🙂

    I’ve written up a new guide and touching up lose ends now.

    And thanks to your new input, I decided the risk to use AppSnap is high. Losing those library files is unthinkable. I’ll tell everyone to manually delete which files instead. It’s not as easy as using AppZapper but you can’t go wrong with manual uninstallation.

  18. Installer got 3.1-1 ? Mine is 3.0
    Nate method.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] special thank you to Johnathan who pointed out to me I could use AppZapper to find out the necessary iTunes 7.6’s files to […]

Leave a Reply

