Skip navigation


Veency is a dream come true for me. I’ve always wished I could get in and control my iPod touch on my Mac!

Unfortunately, the current beta release (0.9.2591-1) doesn’t work with Leopard’s build-in Screen Sharing. What a bummer! Fortunately the author, Jay Freeman (aka “saurik”) is aware of this issue and, I’m sure he’s working hard to resolve it.

Luckily for us, there are plenty of VNC clients (for Leopard and Tiger) that are compatible with Veency. I’m using JollysFastVNC because it’s tiny in size, works out-of-the-box, and a freeware. All you need to get going is key in your iPod touch/iPhone’s IP address (which you can find out in Settings -> Wi-Fi) in the Network Address field. You do not need to change the default value of all other settings.

Controlling your iPod touch/iPhone via your Mac is easy. Below are the not-so-obvious:

Home Button = Right-click your mouse
Swipe Action = Press & hold your mouse’s left button and drag

As usual, you could swipe right to go to the next page, but a far easier trick is to click on the right-side of the page navigation dots (shown shown in red.)

Enjoy!

9 Comments

  1. Any chance to get this on Windows?

  2. >Joshua

    Veency is a VNC Server for the iPod touch/iPhone. All you need then is a VNC Client program to access it in your OS.

    Unfortunately I don’t use Windows and can’t recommend a client for you, but here’s what Google suggests: http://www.google.com/search?q=vnc+client+windows

  3. My iphone 2.1 pwnaged does not pick up my wifi at home except rarely once a day or so, yet it gets on other networks when im out somewhere with wifi. Will veency and jollyfast vnc work on a public wifi connection to control my iphone through my macbook-since i cant use the full touch screen(bottom of it not working anymore)?

  4. Use ultravnc for windows. It’s plain awesome. Or the old free RealVNC.

    And press the middle mouse button for home.

  5. I’m using Chicken of the VNC and note that video doesn’t show nor is audio available to the host system (MacOS X in my case). Are other VNC clients more successful tin these areas?

    Mu interest is in being able to screencast any aspect of iPhon / iPod touch so this aspect is pretty iportant to me.

  6. Even Apple’s Pro app, Remote Desktop, can’t re-produce audio so I doubt Veency is an exception.

    As for video, I notice we can’t snap a screenshoot with iPhone build-in screen capture function on video. So perhaps the limitation is on the hardware without major re-coding.

  7. Hello there! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest
    writing a blog article or vice-versa? My site goes over a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit
    from each other. If you happen to be interested feel free to shoot me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Superb blog by the way!

  8. Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that
    it is really informative. I am going to watch out for brussels.
    I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. Lots of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  9. Unquestionably imagine that that you said.
    Your favourite reason seemed to be at the web the simplest factor to consider of.

    I say to you, I definitely get irked whilst people consider worries that they plainly don’t recognize about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top as
    well as defined out the whole thing with no need side-effects ,
    other folks can take a signal. Will probably
    be again to get more. Thanks


Leave a Reply

